Sleepless… In Welland

I’d be lying if I said I am feeling good.  I haven’t slept well for several weeks, and it seems to be getting worse.  I did some research on vitamins and what symptoms their deficiencies cause and trouble sleeping is definitely one, along with nerve problems (like in my leg), mood changes/depression, dizziness, headaches… Basically take my prolapse out of the equation and the majority of the leftover symptoms are now explained.

I already know I’m low in vitamin d (though most people here are low in d just due to our location), low in b12 and extremely low in iron.  They were talking iron infusions at one point.  I have bloodwork be taken on Wednesday to check my levels again but I suspect they’ll be lower than they were a few weeks ago.

So, as I mentioned, I did research into the vitamins.  I’m hoping with having a full picture as to why I need to take them I’ll be better at compliance.  Also, changed the schedule for taking them to align better with when I’m home and more likely to take them properly.  So far it’s been a couple days and I’m doing well remembering.

Last week I went back to the OB/GYN to talk about my prolapsed uterus.  She says it’s not getting worse so I qualified that no, the prolapse itself isn’t worse but that the pain and quality of life is much worse.  She put a pessary in me to try to relieve some of the discomfort and it made things worse.  So it’s out, but I got some good news anyway.  My surgery is tentatively scheduled for October 23, 2015 to have my uterus removed.  I’m slightly concerned about my labs though.  At pre-op if my levels are low I wonder if they’ll still take me? Well I’ve got time to get them up through compliance. So, fingers crossed.

Sleep deprivation is killing me.  I can barely think. I can barely speak.  I’m stumbling around, slurring, missing words, forgetting words, forgetting almost everything I need to remember, have serious mood swings and irritability… I have a prescription for sleeping pills at the pharmacy waiting for me… But while it’s a mere $20 script I don’t actually have $20. 😦 I also have depression meds I’m supposed to pick up but they’re $90… Those I’m not thrilled about, but Geez I desperately want to sleep so I’m going to beg, borrow or steal for enough to grab them at the very least.

Oh well, going to go.  Having hot flashes 😦

1 Comment

  1. The surgery will be a liberation for you. Mine was.
    They kept offering me pain meds afterwards and I said, “Why? The pain is less now than before!”
    I hope it’s the same for you.
    As for the vitamins – don’t underestimate how much difference they can make. Even when you’re feeling better, continued compliance is crucial or you’ll end up back in the dumps again.
    Hugs. Can’t wait to see you.

Leave a Reply

