Day 2 – May 2nd 2014

So I should have started this yesterday… but I was too excited and sick with a cold to do much of anything.  I’ll start with a little background info… I’m 32, mother of 1 daughter who recently moved in with her dad.  It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, deciding to send her to him, but it was better for her that she go.  Anyway, that is a whole other story.

So it’s been over a year that I’ve been working on getting accepted for gastric bypass surgery.  It’s not an easy process… I had to visit a dietitian, a social worker, a psychologist, an internist, got a bunch of tests done, back to the internist, and FINALLY I got to meet with my surgeon, Dr. Gmora.  Oh and now I have to go do a nutrition course before I have the surgery.  Dr. Gmora is very nice, but has stubby fingers and I thought to myself, “How can he even do surgery with fingers that stubby??” but then I talked myself out of worrying because the surgery is done laparoscopically (Sp?).

I’m very excited to begin. Yesterday was spent calling (ok texting, actually – does anyone call anyone nowadays?) all my support people and beginning my 3 week liquid diet (Optifast).  The shakes are surprisingly good.  I only got vanilla so far, but I need to get 4 more boxes and so I believe I will get them in chocolate.   I’m not hungry physically but mentally I am starving.  I’ve also discovered watching Food Network is NOT a good idea.  It was very hard to go to the store, pass all my favourite foods and not buy anything to eat.  But since I’m not physically in pain or anything like that I managed to walk on by without cheating.

So I guess you’ll want to know more about what led me to need/want gastric bypass surgery.  I know it’s a pretty drastic solution to my problem, but I qualify so I guess I do actually need it.  Dr. Gmora says there’s no way diet and exercise alone will get all my weight off which was kind of hard to hear, even though I know it to be true.

I started life on October 22nd, 1981 and weighed somewhere around 7 lbs.  I’m the oldest of 5 kids and my parents stayed married up until my mom passed away from lukemia when I was 19.  I don’t know why, but I had a miserable childhood.  My psychiatrist and psychologist have said that I was “emotionally neglected” as a kid… but I don’t know, I don’t want to think badly of my parents.  As a result, I suffer from severe depression and something called “Borderline Personality Disorder” which I won’t get into as it is mostly under control with medication and counselling.  I gained weight pretty steadily as a child and over the last 4 years have ballooned – gaining over 100 lbs.  Possibly this is because of medication I take, but more likely it’s a result of my depression and lack of motivation to do anything other than eat and watch TV.  I managed to get myself type 2 diabetes as well.  Apparently I’ll need to keep an eye on my sugar because it can go down to dangerous levels while on this diet.  And I believe them… normally my sugars are around 7 but today they got as low as 4.7.  So I think I’ve written enough for today… let’s get on with what everyone wants to see… my stats!

Last weight: Taken on Sunday, April 27th 2014 — 291.4 lbs

Height: 5’6″

 

Today, May 2nd 2014… day 2

Weight: 284.6 lbs (6.8 lbs lost so far!)

Cheating: NONE 🙂

Exercise: None yet

 

I’m not going to post a picture every time I blog… but I thought starting pictures would be helpful to document my adventure.

Day 2 Front Day 2 Side

Wow, do I ever feel disgusting.  I HATE seeing these… but it’s the truth about me, whether I like it or not.  And besides, it’s going to change very soon!

3 Comments

  1. I am so proud of you. What you are undertaking is incredibly hard but also incredibly brave. I know it will change your life.
    I also know that I’m glad we’re friends, regardless of size, weight or anything else.
    I’m behind you all the way. xx

Leave a Reply

